Fasting….& Resources

Some time ago one of our readers asked about fasting, so I’d like to give a Bible reference/quote as follow-up on that from the beatitudes:

Matthew 6:16-19

“16 Moreover, when you fast, do not have a mournful face as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces so that they may appear to people as fasting. Truly I say to you, they have received their reward. 17 But you, when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face. 18 Thus you may not appear to people as fasting, but only to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret, will reward you.” ULB-EN

I think that last verse is so rich: Our Father sees & rewards.

For me, I think of fasting as giving up something so I can spend the time used during that something in prayer. Fasting does not earn us anything; it gives the extra time for special prayer.

About resources: I’ve been asked what translation or version of the Bible I’ve been quoting from, so will give the web link. It’s called the UnfoldingWord and I use it because it’s public domain. I understand that so is the King James Version, but since that is old English I thought it might be harder for our foreign readers. I do check with other translations to see how they compare, and most have been pretty close in the wording.

Leave a Reply

