Live and learn….

My Sisters,

Is not that an old saying “Live and learn”, yet do we? I’ve been reading a lot, because one must read to write, the Bible being the best place to study, yet God has given many “men of old” wisdom that we can learn from. I’ve been reading William Gurnall’s The Christian in Complete Armour, and find that God is teaching me many things, especially about the armour in Ephesians 6:10-20. This book is very deep in knowledge, but I’m currently reading about the helmet which makes it rather funny that it took reading two-thirds of the book before the complete make-up of the armour hit me. I recall Gurnall writing many times about the defensive nature of the armour, that only the sword is an offensive part. In my recent readings, it became very clear that, in most cases, we as Christians are to be on the defensive, protecting the “castle of the heart” as John Bunyan would put it in Holy War.

So, rather than running out to attack Satan’s grounds, let us pray in a way that God would strengthen His people to fight when attacked, not back down, standing firm on the whole counsel of God—His Word, the Bible.

Leave a Reply

